Tampa Bay Lands the 2022 SEC Men's Basketball Tournament

Tampa Bay Lands the 2022 SEC Men's Basketball Tournament

TAMPA, FL – The Southeastern Conference (SEC) has awarded Tampa Bay and the Tampa Bay Times Forum the 2022 SEC Men’s Basketball Tournament. Today’s announcement by Commissioner Mike Slive marks the second time Tampa Bay will host the SEC Men’s Basketball Tournament, with 2009 being the previous occasion. According to local organizers over 13,000 hotel visitor room night stays could result from the event. The SEC Men’s Basketball Tournament will take place at the Tampa Bay Times Forum starting Wednesday, March 9 through Sunday, March 13, 2022.

“Tampa is a great scene for us in terms of having an outstanding facility and environment there,” said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive. “We are looking forward to having the 2022 SEC back in Tampa."

“We’re elated that the Southeastern Conference has chosen us to host their Men’s Basketball Tournament again,” said Rob Higgins, Executive Director of the Tampa Bay Sports Commission.  “We’ve truly enjoyed our relationship with the league over the years and this will be another opportunity to work together to do something special for their phenomenal student-athletes.”

The awarding of the 2022 SEC Men’s Basketball Tournament further adds to Tampa Bay’s resume of upcoming major collegiate events. In addition to the SEC Men’s Basketball Tournament, Tampa Bay will host the 2015 NCAA Division I Women’s Final Four, the 2016 Division I NCAA Men’s Frozen Four, the 2017 College Football National Championship and the 2018 Division I Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Preliminary Championship.

“The entire Tampa Bay Times Forum team is excited about today’s announcement,” said Steve Griggs, President of the Times Forum. “We look forward to working with the Tampa Bay Sports Commission and the rest of Team Tampa Bay on the successful execution of the SEC Men’s Basketball Championship in 2022. We are grateful to the leadership of the member institutions for electing to come back to Tampa Bay and our facility with this event.”

The SEC member schools include the University of Alabama, University of Arkansas, Auburn University, University of Florida, University of Georgia, University of Kentucky, Louisiana State University, University of Mississippi, Mississippi State University, University of Missouri, University of South Carolina, University of Tennessee, Texas A&M University and Vanderbilt University.

For additional information, please visit the official home of the Tampa Bay Sports Commission, www.TampaBaySports.org, or follow us on Twitter @SportsTampaBay. All media inquiries can be directed to Michael Farrant, Tampa Bay Sports Commission Multimedia Specialist, at MFarrant@VisitTampaBay.com or (813) 342-4077.

Official Southeastern Conference website