NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee Announces Finalist Host Cities For 2012-16 Women’s Final Four

NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee Announces Finalist Host Cities For 2012-16 Women’s Final Four

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee has announced that eight cities have been selected as finalists to host the 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Women’s Final Four®.

Finalist cities with venue(s) and host(s) are:

  • Columbus, Ohio, Nationwide Arena, The Ohio State University.

  • Dallas, American Airlines Center, Big 12 Conference.

  • Denver, Pepsi Center, Mountain West Conference.

  • Indianapolis, Lucas Oil Stadium, Butler University and Horizon League.

  • Nashville, Sommet Center, Ohio Valley Conference.

  • New Orleans, New Orleans Arena, University of New Orleans.

  • San Antonio, Alamodome, University of Texas at San Antonio.

  • Tampa Bay, St. Pete Times Forum, University of South Florida.

Site visits to each city will be conducted in September and October, 2008. Following the site visits to each prospective city, the finalists will participate in a presentation session with the committee in mid-November. The 2012-16 Women’s Final Four sites will be announced in mid-November. “It was an extremely hard decision for the committee to narrow the list of finalists to these eight cities and it will be an even more difficult decision to determine the five cities that will serve as future hosts for the Women’s Final Four,” said Judy Southard, chair of the Division I Women’s Basketball Committee and senior associate director of athletics at Louisiana State University. “The eight finalists are a blend of cities that have hosted the Women’s Final Four in the past and those that are possible hosts for the first time. It will be the committee’s charge over the next three months to make the final determination in regard to which will be the best future host sites for the marquee event for women’s basketball.” Those cities with past Women’s Final Four hosting histories include Indianapolis (2005), New Orleans (1991, 2004), San Antonio (2002) and Tampa Bay (2008). Columbus, Dallas, Denver and Nashville have not hosted the event in the past. After submitting a declaration of intent to bid last November, representatives of each city attended a pre-bid seminar in January, before meeting with the NCAA staff for individual planning and progress updates in April and again in June.